Whiteness

Oh whiteness, you are so sneaky. So quiet but always in the (biracial) room. Tonight I had the realization that white people are eerily silent on the issue of biracial identity and that it sure is difficult to define yourself as 1/2 white when no one seems to know what being white really is. Well, certainly there are books on whiteness, so I think I’ll look into those. After this realization, about the lack of white voices on this subject and the role that whiteness plays in the confusion over mixed race/ biracial identity, I googled all sorts of combinations pertaining to whiteness and biracials. in Meghan’s Elle article she gives a glimpse at her (white) dad’s perspective on the matter. Then I found this article and thread:

One Thing I Can’t Pass On to My Daughter: White Privilege

https://www.brainchildmag.com/2013/10/one-thing-i-cant-pass-on-to-my-daughter-white-privilege/

Leave a Reply

