Archive for June 11, 2017

Hollywood, I’m mad at you…

Posted in Uncategorized on June 11, 2017 by jerlina

So, I have rolled my eyes at the show Blackish for years, for one particular reason. This reason is that the majority of actors on the show are mixed race. It just seems so terribly racist to cast so many actors, in a show that explicitly focuses on black issues, that are mixed race. It is not as if there is a shortage of actors and actresses in Hollywood who phenotypically look more black AND who have two black parents. That said, this is so common in Hollywood. The most obvious example is when Zoe Saldana was cast to play Nina Simone. Come on, give me a break.

 

 

All Mixed Up: What Do We Call People Of Multiple Backgrounds?

Posted in Uncategorized on June 11, 2017 by jerlina

http://www.npr.org/sections/codeswitch/2016/08/25/455470334/all-mixed-up-what-do-we-call-people-of-multiple-backgrounds

 

Sorry to spoil this well written and researched article but it ends with:

“We’re both laughing when we say goodbye. Later, I turn back to my notes and realize, quietly, that I still have no answers.

But talking to my mom, doing all this research, hearing from historians who’ve devoted their entire careers to investigating these questions and still fumble when they’re asked “What are you?” — it’s had the welcome effect of allowing me to care a little less.”